A mother of four, photographer, nature lover. Someone trying to make sense of it all, through photos and stories. 

I try to be free in all senses of the word, so I made the leap and now work with what I love doing; taking pictures, storing this life in moments, both for myself and for clients. My heart is in photographing birth and motherhood, but I take on just about any photography job. 
(See my birth photos at www.birth.no and the rest of my work portfolio at www.mariavatne.no.)

I live on a farm in Norway with my man Nik and my children Ronja, Freja, Falk and Ulv, plus a bunch of animals. We grow our own food as far as the seasons allow it, we don't go to kindergarten, the three youngest ones will be homeschooled.

We govern our own lives, we strive for independence, we want to be in this life wild and free and full of love.

Last weekend:

What we did this weekend? Oh, nothing special. We just had a visit from the other Paynes (England/ Portugal), and played in the snow, ate loads, played games, snuggled the newborn baby (my niece) and generally chilled out completely. Wonderful! While I am looking and feeling more and more like Marge Gunderson from the movie Fargo (as the temperatures sink below -15 degrees Celsius and I have to put on four layers of clothes on my already substantial physique), I cannot sledge and go nuts in the snow like the others. So I photograph, and cheer them on, and look forward to next winter when I'll be back to normal again.
A great weekend, nevertheless! 

My hunk.

Two men and a ram.