A mother of four, photographer, nature lover. Someone trying to make sense of it all, through photos and stories. 

I try to be free in all senses of the word, so I made the leap and now work with what I love doing; taking pictures, storing this life in moments, both for myself and for clients. My heart is in photographing birth and motherhood, but I take on just about any photography job. 
(See my birth photos at www.birth.no and the rest of my work portfolio at www.bygdefotografen.no.)

I live on a farm in Norway with my man Nik and my children Ronja, Freja, Falk and Ulv, plus a bunch of animals. We grow our own food as far as the seasons allow it, we don't go to kindergarten, the three youngest ones will be homeschooled.

We govern our own lives, we strive for independence, we want to be in this life wild and free and full of love.

We've been out walking...

...and we found out we can see our new farm from a hill by where we live now! We had a lovely day, although Mrs. Payne felt a little aggressive going up that last steep bit of the hill (which Mr. Payne found somewhat amusing, the evil man that he is). She quickly recovered once she saw the fantastic view, and it was all worth it.
A grand day out for the Paynes!


The world's cutest snugglepuss!

A kind of family photo.

"...this is Freja Payne - on top of a mountain - for the BBC - in Norway."

The dogs probably went for a ten times longer walk than us, with all their running up, down and around.

Mr. Payne and Freja, posing in front of their new farm.

The sisters.

Yummy breakfast.